A Toast to Brent!

I owe this to Brent Ozar.

I’ve been a “dba” for a long, long time.  But not an “official” DBA.  It was always an adjunct function to my regular developer duties.  I’ve been a long time “Development DBA”.

In 2008, I started reading Brent’s blog.  It was Brent who lit the fire in me to become a REAL, production DBA.

I started as an ASP/Java/DBA, and then took Brent’s encouragement to quit a full time developer job to pursue (and land) a position as a Production DBA managing the Dept. of Housing and Urban Development’s SQL Servers.

And now, I am happy to announce, that experience has brought me to the level where I was bold enough to pursue (and land, as of today) the Production DBA position for the Tulsa Technology Center.

I’ve gone from managing much larger databases to (probably) much smaller databases; but much more of them and in a much more diversified environment.  Whereas I currently manage three large (VERY large – terabyte class SQL 2005) servers, I will now be managing 20+ production servers spanning SQL Server 2000, 2005, 2008 and 2008 R2.

Ladies, and Gentlemen, I propose a Toast to my esteemed, and yet unknown mentor:

Brent Ozar!

Thank you Brent for inspiring and motivating me!

About combatdba

I'm a production DBA at a terabyte-class SQL Server Shop
This entry was posted in Procedures. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Toast to Brent!

  1. Brent Ozar says:

    Hahaha, wow! There’s a nice surprise to wake up to in my morning blog surfing. Why, thank you, sir!

  2. David Stein says:

    Nice post. There are many of use who have great respect for Master O.

  3. Glenn Berry says:

    Brent has inspired a lot of people with his activities. Congratulations on your new position!

  4. Pingback: Exectweets » BrentO at 05/11/11 01:47:27

  5. Pingback: ExecTweets Canada » BrentO at 05/11/11 01:47:27

Leave a Reply

